Kathy's Space

Who Am I

I have worked all my life to become a golf and ski bum... and I can proudly say "I have succeeded". After retiring in 2013 from SAP, I sold my home in Santa Clare and built a new home in Minden NV where I now reside. I now spend my time working part time at Heavenly Resort, (Mountain Hostess in the winter and Eco Ranger in the summer) skiing in the winter and golfing in the summer. I am also active in the Carson Valley Women's Golf Club, High Sierra Team Play, Northern Nevada Women's Golf Association, travel and many other outside activities. Life is good, now and in my past life where;  

I was born in San Francisco, raised in the mid-peninsula and have lived in the Bay Area all my life, including Burlingame, Menlo Park, Saratoga, Belmont, San Mateo, Millbrae, Foster City, San Bruno, South San Francisco, and Santa Clara. We moved to Menlo Park when I was two where I attended Oak Knoll Elementary school and went to Woodside High for my freshman year. In the summer between my freshman and sophomore year we moved south to Saratoga where I attended and graduated from Saratoga High. After high school we moved back up the peninsula to Belmont. While in Belmont I attended the College of San Mateo earning an AA degree in Business Administration before transferring to California State University, Hayward (now East Bay) campus and graduated with a BS degree in Business Administration.

I consider myself to be athletic and enjoy skiing (both water and snow), golf, baseball, football, soccer, swimming, back packing, bowling, tennis, cycling and running – well jogging. My passions now are snow skiing and golf.  I am an accomplished skier having done some armature racing, patrolled in Yosemite and Tahoe and taught skiing several years for Nic Fiore at Yosemite’s Badger Pass. Every year I get a season pass to Heavenly Valley with the goal of spending one four day weekend a month during the ski season in South Lake Tahoe. Under the best of conditions that would give me 20 to 24 days of skiing a year. However, realistically, what with business, family, the weather or some other outside force, it has averaged between 12 and 16 days a year.

Golf is my other passion which I limit to the off ski season (I do not do rain). While not as good at golf as I am at skiing I am getting better. Every year I set a new handicap goal and have pretty much achieved my goal for the last 3 years reducing my HDCP index from ~18 to 14.5. My home course is Santa Clara G&TC where I try to get out once a weekend. “Try” being the operative word here; like my ski plan, it seems that more often than not, something seems to come up to interfere with this plan as well, as my average is probably closer to 2.5 rounds per month.

So other than sports what else do I like to do? I love to travel; to meet people and see new places. Most of my travel has been through work which has worked out well for me as my travel usually includes weekends allowing me to do a bit of sightseeing. Thus far I have been to Sydney, Singapore, Vancouver, Paris, London and Heidelberg (see Photo Gallery). My favorite European city is Paris, having spent close to two months there, via several trips, where the city is so full of history and museums and the people I have found have been just wonderful. However, I do spend a lot of time in Vancouver; so much so that I almost consider it as my second home. It is like a mini San Francisco with mountains. I also enjoy going out to nice restaurants preferably ones where you can enjoy not only good food but the company and a good conversation. I like going to plays and concerts (I'm a country girl), reading (although I could do more) and of course shopping – mostly window.